Back to Reality

Hi, friends and readers!

I’m still alive and kicking, though my lack of updates would seem to indicate otherwise.  I had wanted to give you all a play-by-play of my most recent visit with my boyfriend, but we didn’t have internet where we were staying, and then I got distracted by job searching and working and all sorts of other excuses.  So, in lieu of a bunch of late, individual posts about my visit, I’m going to give you this one post with some highlights from our thirteen days together.

To begin with: My boyfriend came to visit me this time around.  This is due to the fact that 1. I had just graduated and I was (still am!) pretty darn poor, 2. I was in the throes of job searching and anticipated being called for interviews throughout the winter, and 3. It was my parents’ idea to get him a ticket to come here as my graduation gift, and I’m not one to argue with free tickets.  So, I happily received him at the airport on December 26th. What happened from there, you may ask? Cue the highlights…

Chipotle.  My boyfriend’s absolute favorite American food is Chipotle.  Who can blame him, really?  It’s become an unofficial tradition for us to eat Chipotle together for his first and last meal of each visit.  In addition to this, we had Chipotle two or three additional times during this visit. One of these incidences involved me surprising him by picking up some burrito bowls on my way back from a job interview.  (Don’t say I never did anything for you, honey!)

Snuggles.  Snuggles are one of the best parts of visits!  Snuggling is warm and comfy and makes me super happy.  We like to snuggle up to each other while watching TV, and also while we do separate things on our own.  For instance: one day, he wanted to read a book.  I wanted to watch the Blackhawks game.  Easy fix–we snuggled up together while I watched the game and he read his book.  It’s nice to be together and still be able to pursue individual interests.

Chicago.  No visit to my stomping grounds is complete without a trip into the city.  I was dumb and thought I had the train schedule memorized, which meant we were on time for a train that I had only imagined, and had to wait nearly two hours for the next one.  Once there, we shuffled through slush and snow to meet up with one of my good friends who I hadn’t seen in a while.  (Said friend is, coincidentally, a beauty blogger–you can check her out over at Unbeautiful Beauty.) Unfortunately, we didn’t have much time to spend together, but we did manage to have a nice little snack at Panera.  My boyfriend also found out the hard way that a Frappucino is a cold beverage.

Not crying so much.  Achievement unlocked!  We barely cried when we had to say goodbye at the airport this time. Progress!  I completely lost it when I kissed him goodbye as he got in line for security.  However, given that I normally cry on and off for the whole day before we separate, I’d say that I made some good progress.  Perhaps this is because I’m finally starting to realize that the time until we are permanently together is decreasing with every passing day, or because I’m realizing that crying solves nothing and I should spend more time being happy than sad. Either way, fewer tears were shed this time around.

While we don’t know when we’ll be together again, there are some happy things to celebrate: our two-year anniversary is next month, AND I might be spending the next academic year in France. Stay tuned for more details on both!

Thanks for putting up with my irregularity,

Arrow

Leave some love

